Banks to Remain Closed for Up to 15 Days in July


Bank Related

Banks in India will remain closed for up to 15 days in the month of July, 2021. As apart from six weekly offs which include four Sundays and two Saturdays (second and fourth) the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has notified nine holidays this month.

RBI has categorized holidays under three categories, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday, and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.

The list of holidays given below has been notified by RBI.

  • 12 July 2021: Kang (Rathajatra)/Ratha Yatra
  • 13 July 2021: Bhanu Jayanti
  • 14 July 2021: Drukpa Tshechi
  • 16 July 2021: Harela
  • 17 July 2021: U Tirot Sing Day/Kharchi Puja
  • 19 July 2021: Guru Rimpoche’s Thungkar Tshechu
  • 20 July 2021: Bakrid
  • 21 July 2021: Bakrid
  • 31 July 2021: Ker Puja

Weekend holidays in July 2021

  • 04 July 2021 – Weekly off (Sunday)
  • 10 July 2021 – Second Saturday
  • 11 July 2021 – Weekly off (Sunday)
  • 18 July 2021 – Weekly off (Sunday)
  • 24 July 2021 – Fourth Saturday
  • 25 July 2021 – Weekly off (Sunday)

However, banks will not be closed for all nine days for all states as these are state-specific holidays for different occasions. Only the gazetted holidays are observed by banks all over the country. Even as banks will remain shut on the above-mentioned days, customers can avail online services. Moreover, mobile and internet banking will remain operational.


Knowledge Source:

Crucial Banking and Taxation Changes with effect from 1st July

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *