Banks to Remain Closed for 17 Days in November

Banks to Remain Closed for 17 Days in November

Private and public sector banks in the country will remain closed for as many as 17 days during continued festivities around India including weekends in the forthcoming month of November.

The RBI’s list of holidays falls into three categories. These are state-wise celebrations, religious holidays and festival celebrations, while RBI has made Sunday a compulsory leave for all banks, beside from second and fourth Saturdays of each month.

Going by the list of holidays issued by RBI in the upcoming month, the number of holidays has been fixed at 11. The remaining are the weekend leaves which includes 4 Sundays and 2 Saturdays (second and fourth Saturday) of the month.

The dates are as follows:

  • November 1: Kannada Rajyostsava/Kut
  • November 3: Naraka Chaturdashi
  • November 4: Diwali Amavasaya (Laxmi Pujan)/Deepavali/Kali Puja
  • November 5: Diwali (Bali Pratipada)/Vikram Samvant
  • November 6: Bhai Duj
  • November 10: Chhath Puja (Sayan ardhya)
  • November 11: Chhath Puja
  • November 12: Wangala Festival
  • November 19: Guru Nanak Jayanti /Karthika Purnima
  • November 22: Kanakadasa Jayanti
  • November 23: Seng Kutsnem

Besides the varying state-wise holidays, the banks will remain closed on the days of the weekends on the following dates.

  • November 7: Sunday
  • November 13: Second Saturday of the month
  • November 14: Sunday
  • November 21: Sunday
  • November 27: Fourth Saturday of the month
  • November 28: Sunday


Knowledge Update

Wellness Discount on Insurance Premium Soon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *